Guppies, how do I insure that I get males and females newborns. Do not be surprised if you find your female guppies to be reproducing even in the absence of a male. Sometimes one goes to the left field unknowingly. Males are typically smaller than the females, averaging between 0.6-1.4 inches, whereas females are around 1.2-2.4 inches long. NO! Please link the scientific papers that support this. = D This sounds more like when a non dominant male betta develops an egg spot to pass as female through another males territory. Alternatively, you can set up a breeding box too to help save the fry from the adults. I would assume the same in this instance. This mark is called a gravid spot. My guppy fry are almost 4 months there are 10 females and 2 males. Or, a 5-gallon tank for 3-4 guppies. No, a female marijuana plant cannot turn male. I’m no fish expert, but I’ve never heard of guppies changing gender. Seriously do female guppy's really turn into males?? My bad. Guppies exhibit sexual dimorphism.While wild-type females are grey in body color, males have splashes, spots, or stripes that can be any of a wide variety of colors. Have you personal observed females turning into males? So the alpha female took over the tank. A female guppy gets pregnant from stored sperm packets she has been passed by a male sometime when they were together. When the live bearers are juveniles, ALL of the juveniles look female until the gonopodium starts to develop. It can turn into a hermaphrodite marijuana plant if it gets pollinated or is stressed too much. Yes, I have. It’s interesting though because I moved my last male out of my 15g tank and since then I’ve noticed the largest female being a lot more pushy and bossy with the other girls. Female and Male Guppies. The developed gonopodium is of no function. Moreover, when the female guppy gets pregnant, her body would grow in size. I purchased 2 males and 2 females and one of the males is a bully towards the other! Information about your